The Road to 140.6!

I thought a lot about what I wanted to say with this blog, it has been a very long time since I have written and a lot of things have happened.  The Pandemic, I finished a bachelor’s degree, then a Masters degree.  I have also had some health related issues that I think are finally sorted out.

When the pandemic started and we were entering this crazy time of life for everyone, I was in the middle of training for my first full 140.6 triathlon.  Well that was almost 3 years ago, and there have been some changes to my fitness, my career, and my life in general.  I made the decision at the end of 2022 that my dream of 140.6 was not something I was ready to give up on. 

So 2023 is dedicated to building my base fitness and becoming the best version of me, not only physically but mentally as well.

2024 will be the year that 140.6 will happen, I am looking at races and planning which will be the one…..but until then I am hoping you will join me on my journey from here to 140.6….

The first few months of 2023 I am focusing on strength, flexibility and swimming to work on endurance….I hate the treadmill, and would rather be cranking out my miles in the pool….which I am….

I have been swimming long slow distances averaging 6000-7000 yards a week.  I work with a lot of teenagers in my job at the YMCA and it is funny to see them so impressed with the distance that I can put up and then go teach fitness classes…their reactions are the best….it gives me a little boost to my ego that definitely helps me along the way.

So here is to the starting line!

Leave a comment